Let's Go For a Run!

Publié le par Emmanuelle Ide

Let's Go For a Run!
Let's Go For a Run!

First of all, you should know that I never enjoyed running when I was a teenager. I just kept thinking "what's the point?" and would find every possible excuse for not having to run during gym class. I was what you could call a very lazy brat.

But then, years later, I could feel that my legs needed the exercise. Since my job does not require that much (say, any) physical activity, sitting at my desk all day made me long for some sport.

After several attempts at running and not succeeding because I had breathing issues (lungs and bronchial tubes on fire), I finally did it, thanks to some advice of a good friend.

Now I am not a coach or trainer, I'm only someone going for a run three times a wee, I don't pretend to be an expert. Having said that, should you want to start running, here are some tips and things I've learnt along the way:

- Never forget to stretch before and after your jogging. Your muscles need to warm up a bit and then they need to stretch.

- Choose your pair of shoes wisely. You will not buy the same pair if you go for a run once a week than three times a week. It also depends on the surface you'll be running on.

- When you buy your shoes, don't forget to take one size bigger than your actual size. Your feet will swell with the exercise.

- Always take a bottle of water with you. Running can give the sensation of not being able to swallow properly. Hydrate your mouth during the exercise will help you with that. It is aslo primordial to hydrate while doing any physical activity.

- Don't forget that first, you have to find your own pace. A piece of advice to find your own? You should be able to have a conversation while running. If you can't, you're running too fast.

- Every six week, take a break. You don't have to stop everything, you can choose another activity that will train other muscles. Yoga is a good example of a "pause activity".

- Define a day in the week for your activity and stick to it. If it's sunny two days later and you want to go for a run again, you're free to do so, but try not to skip your "defined" day. That's the best way to stop completely your training.

Finally, if you are (over)connected, here are some nice apps that will help an entertain you before, through and even after your jogging: Nike + Running, Runtastic, Runkeeper, Zombies Run (if you're a fan of The Walking Dead), Pumatrac, among others.

Publié dans Beauty

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article